Browse By

       Follow Me on Pinterest

Tweets by @sweetonbooks

In accordance with FTC Guidelines, Sweet on Books would like to tell you about
the books that we review. While we often purchase our own books, we do also receive free books from publishers
and authors. We are never compensated for our reviews.

Unsubscribe from our newsletter





Capture the Flag
Kate Messner


Sweet Sites for Children's Books

Seven Impossible Things...
100 Scope Notes
A Fuse #8 Production
A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy
Books 4 Your Kids
Chicken Spaghetti
Charlotte's Library
From the Mixed-Up Files...
Jen Robinson's Book Page
Just One More Book
Literacy Learning Zone
Mid-Grade Re(ad)action
Middle Grade Mania
Ms. Yingling Reads
Nerdy Book Club
Pragmatic Mom
Smack Dab in the Middle
The Book Smugglers
The Children's Book Review
The Guardian: Children's Books
The Miss Rumphius Effect
The Reading Tub
There's a Book
Through the Looking Glass
Waking Brain Cells
Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls, Moving Day (series #1) PDF Print E-mail

What You Need to Know:
• This book is a story about life told from a nine-year old girl's perspective, no holds barred.
• 8,9,10 year old girls will eat this book up because of that honesty, they will hear and see themselves in Allie.
• With a nine year old talking, the story can get raw in parts. No worries for parents, just some frank talk about life in
   third grade, a mean girl, a little boys car accident and friendship situations.
• The protaganist, Allie, almost always does the right thing, imparting along the way some great lessons about how
   little girls can stay true to themselves, albeit with mistakes made along the way (see honesty above).
Sweet Series Background:
This is the beginning of a new series from the prolific author, Meg Cabot. This is a departure for Cabot in terms of the age of the audience she is writing for, this being her youngest effort for far, so there should be no worry that it is on the maturity level of her teen reads. The series revolves around nine-year old Allie and her family, which includes mom, dad and two annoying little brothers. Allie finds a lot in life unfair, and decides the way to figure it out is to make a list of rules to deal with all the situations she is put in (moving, being the new girl, best friends, drama queens, etc). As of April, 09, there are 3 books in the series with a fourth coming in Sept, 09.
Sweet Book Summary:
Allie Finkle's family is about to make her move to a new house (that's creepy), start a new school in the middle of the year (!), and leave her best friend (even if she's a crybaby). Allie, even before she gets the news she is moving, is having a hard time relating to friends, so she creates a book of rules to remind herself of how to behave. The rules run the gamut from, "don't eat anything red," to "treat your friends the way you'd want them to treat you," to "If someone is yelling, the polite thing to do is yell back." Allie stumbles through her last days in her beloved old house and old school and readies herself, albeit reluctantly and not without disaster, for her new house and new school.
Author: Meg Cabot Illustrator: n/a Published: 2008, 228 pages
Themes: School, Friendship, Moving, Life Changes, Family Life
If You Liked This Book, Try:
Gooney Bird Greene, Lois Lowry
Judy Moody, Megan McDonald
Julia Gillian (and The Art Of Knowing), Alison Mcghee
This recommendation was written by: Melissa Y.
Support Independent Book Shops: Click Here to Buy this Book on IndieBound
this book
1 Sunday, 25 October 2009 16:35
I loved this book! I am 8 years old and read it a few months ago and I'm now reading the second ali finkle book which I also love.

Your name:
Your email: