Browse By

       Follow Me on Pinterest

Tweets by @sweetonbooks

In accordance with FTC Guidelines, Sweet on Books would like to tell you about
the books that we review. While we often purchase our own books, we do also receive free books from publishers
and authors. We are never compensated for our reviews.

Unsubscribe from our newsletter





Capture the Flag
Kate Messner


Sweet Sites for Children's Books

Seven Impossible Things...
100 Scope Notes
A Fuse #8 Production
A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy
Books 4 Your Kids
Chicken Spaghetti
Charlotte's Library
From the Mixed-Up Files...
Jen Robinson's Book Page
Just One More Book
Literacy Learning Zone
Mid-Grade Re(ad)action
Middle Grade Mania
Ms. Yingling Reads
Nerdy Book Club
Pragmatic Mom
Smack Dab in the Middle
The Book Smugglers
The Children's Book Review
The Guardian: Children's Books
The Miss Rumphius Effect
The Reading Tub
There's a Book
Through the Looking Glass
Waking Brain Cells
Tales of Oliver Pig (series #1) PDF Print E-mail

What You Need to Know:
• The five unrelated chapters are sweet, innocent, feel good stories that sometimes impart a subtle lesson.
• Oliver and his family seem as though they are from a simpler time.
• Although it has chapters, there is still plenty of white space, the sentence structure and vocabulary are simple and
  there are no real paragraphs.
• The consistency of the small square, serene illustrations on each page will be comforting to young readers.
Sweet Series Background:
This series of books features Oliver pig and his younger sister Amanda and their everyday adventures. Sometimes Oliver gets frustrated, occasionally brother and sister argue but it is always good family fun. This series does not need to be read in any particular order.
Sweet Book Summary:
Oliver Pig is a typical little boy, or really a typical little pig. He wants to play outside, he gets in arguments with his little sister and he likes to try doing things on his own. The story lines follow Oliver’s daily activities, all of which are subjects that the beginning reader can relate to and will enjoy hearing about. He spends a day baking with his mom, builds a road for his cars and trucks, prepares for a visit with his grandmother, struggles with the many layers needed for a snowy day and appreciates a good game of hide and seek before bed.
Author: Jean Van Leeuwen Illustrator: Arnold Lobel Published: 1979, 64 pages
Themes: Animals – Pigs, Excellent Read-Aloud, Family Life
If You Liked This Book, Try:
Mercy Watson to the Rescue, Kate DiCamillo
Houndsley and Catina, James Howe
Poppleton, Cynthia Rylant

Your name:
Your email: